Microsoft OneDrive: New prompt to confirm deletion of shared items and updated prompt for local mass item deletions
In an effort to enhance user experience and prevent accidental deletion of important data, OneDrive is introducing a new confirmation prompt for deleting shared items and an updated prompt for mass local deletions. These prompts are set to roll out starting mid-September 2024, and will be enabled by default with no admin action required beforehand.
Previously, users could delete shared items in File Explorer without being prompted for confirmation, which could result in the loss of important data. However, with the new prompt, users will be asked to confirm the deletion of shared items before proceeding. Additionally, when users attempt to mass delete local items, they will also be prompted to confirm the deletion through an updated prompt.
Admins can set policies to manage these prompts and prevent users from opting out of seeing the confirmation messages. They can also set the threshold for mass delete, which defaults to 200 items. This feature will be applicable in builds later than One Drive 24.091.0505.0001.
By introducing these prompts, OneDrive aims to enhance security and prevent data loss for its users.
For more information, visit the original post at M365 Admin.
Published on:
Learn moreWe can help you with Microsoft OneDrive: New prompt to confirm deletion of shared items and updated prompt for local mass item deletions
If you want help implementing, troubleshooting, or improving this product, contact us and we’ll point you in the right direction.
Related posts
OneDrive: Sync – Shared Item Delete and Local Mass Delete Confirmation Dialogs
OneDrive is introducing a new delete confirmation feature to prevent accidental deletion of shared items or files during mass deletion. This n...
Microsoft Purview compliance portal: Data Lifecycle Management – Enable associated SharePoint sites to be excluded from retention policies after deletion of Modern Group
Microsoft Purview compliance portal offers a new feature that allows users to exclude SharePoint sites associated with a deleted modern Micros...
How to restrict deletion of Address Records in Dynamics 365 Apps
If you are trying to learn the ropes of Dynamics 365 Apps, a common challenge you might face is restricting deletion of Address Records. Howev...
Enable Deletion of Non-Empty Folders in SharePoint for Microsoft 365 and OneDrive | Data Lifecycle Management
Microsoft Purview compliance portal now offers a feature that allows end users to delete non-empty document library folders covered under a Re...
Power Platform admin center – Automatic deletion of inactive developer environments
The Microsoft Power Platform is introducing a cleanup mechanism that automatically removes inactive developer environments from your tenant. T...
Microsoft Purview compliance portal: Insider Risk Management – Policy deletion enhancement
Microsoft Purview Insider Risk Management has enhanced its policy deletion functionality to enable admins with the right permissions to delete...
Horizontal – Microsoft Purview capabilities for Microsoft 365 Copilot
Microsoft Purview has introduced a set of capabilities that will be generally available to strengthen data security and enable compliance mana...
Microsoft Purview | Insider Risk Management: Public preview of policy deletion enhancement
Microsoft Purview Insider Risk Management is introducing an enhancement that allows admins to delete all associated alerts and users in scope ...
Announcement of automatic deletion of inactive Microsoft Dataverse for Teams environments
The Microsoft Power Platform has introduced a new cleanup mechanism to remove inactive Dataverse for Teams environments from your tenant autom...
Announcing Public preview of permanent deletion of users in Power Platform
The Power Platform has announced the public preview of the permanent deletion of users, even those with a disabled status. This new functional...